Skip to content

Uncovering Bob Dylan… It’s all over now, baby blue

June 11, 2010

So I hope this entry is the first of many is this category. It is a simple premise; I find a classic tune made famous by Bob Dylan, do a little research into the track, and attach in a MapsAndMoments post link to Bob’s version, as well as a few others that I deem to be worth a listen. When in college I crawled inside a Bob Dylan record, and don’t believe I’ve ever found my way out. I think this little project will help me expand my musical horizons. Or, at least it will be a few baby steps in that direct.

This first video is of a performer I had never heard of until this evening. I caught the last 30 seconds of his version of this song on my car stereo tonight and couldn’t believe it; someone COVERING Bob Dylan? Someone had attempted to IMPROVE on the handywork of Bob? For me this was hard to grasp. I know that Dylan is musically divisive; you love him or you hate him. While my father think Dylan lacks an form of musical know-how, I think he’s the bee’s knees.

In the past I have groaned whenever I heard a cover of a Dylan original. But when I returned to my apartment, I looked up the version of “It’s all over now, baby blue” I had heard on the radio. I then found a few more. I hope you enjoy these songs as much as I have.

…and last but not least, your musical-messiah…

Thank you for your time, and stay tuned.

2 Comments
  1. i love bob dylan, he is one of the best singer songwriter ‘.;

  2. .”‘ I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives useful information ;:,

Leave a Reply

